My Journey Toward A New Life

Following the advice of some friends, I’ve decided to keep a journal of my Gastric Bypass.  I’ll try to update it daily and keep it as real as I can.  The first step to keeping it real is showing you a recent picture of myself and giving you my weight – this is where I stop and pray and ask God to give me the strength to do this and help me to not become full of anxiety or sink deeper into depression.  So here goes:  This picture was taken Thanksgiving 2006 and I don’t know my exact weight but it was around 330 lbs.  I’m the one in the pink sweater.

  thanksgiving-31.jpg

My Stats:

Height – 5’1″  

Weight – 330lbs

BMI – 60

2 thoughts on “My Journey Toward A New Life”

  1. Dear Doris, thank you so much for your friendship. You are such a kind and caring person, I am very blessed to have you in my life. As for my surgery, it will be done at Moss Rehab in Elkins Park Pa, which is part of Albert Einstein Hospital. Hopefully I will only have an overnight stay but I will let you know more as things develop. God Bless you and keep you in His care,
    Love,
    Briggitte

  2. Dear Briggitte,
    It takes great courage to do what you’re about to undertake. I’ll be looking forward to reading your journal. My thoughts and prayers are with you. If you ever need me I’m just a phone call away. Will you have your surgery at Underwood or would you rather not have company? At least tell Jose I’ll be calling him to check on you unless you give me a number where I can reach you when you feel up to it. Let me know,
    please.
    Love,
    Doris

Leave a comment