Words, Do Yours Bless or Hurt?

God’s Word says that “…the tongue has the power of life and death…”Proverbs 18:21.  We can brighten someone’s day with a kindly spoken word, or cast a dark cloud with a bitter and harsh word.  Sometimes we mean harm with our words, sometimes we don’t even realize we are doing it.  Words cut like sharpened steel, or strengthen us like rock.

I always thought that my children knew that I was their biggest supporter and that I always felt that honesty is the best policy, no matter the situation.  Then, one day, my son approached me and said, “Mom, I don’t think you realize the impact of what you say.”  This wasn’t meant as a compliment, it was meant as a criticism.  I had relayed my feelings about a situation which were up front and honest and were not said in anger or with a bitter tone, however the effect of my words had a cutting impact on my son, which was not my intention.

This evening, I was the one who was being spoken to, and while what was said was not in itself meant to be hurtful, the way it was said was.  I took what was said as a way of being put in my place, and to stop talking.  It cut me to the core and had me paralyzed.  After some time had passed, I felt myself just sitting and staring and wondering what I did to deserve such words and treatment.  It took me about an hour to realize, as a society, we have become so desensitized to what other people may think or feel, that we do not think before we speak.  We have this need to have the last word, to set ourselves above and feel superior.

jesus NEVER did this.  He put others before Himself.  He prayed long and hard before He spoke.  He carefully thought out what He said, how He said, to whom He said it to, and what the outcome of His words would be.

Lord, I pray that I can be more like Jesus when I speak.  Let my words by a sweet sweet sound in Your ears.  Let my words be full of blessings, not cursings, bring healing, not pain, be uplifting, not discouraging, and be full of praise and not complaints.

I am inserting one of Joel Osteen’s messages: Both Death and Life are in the Power of the Tongue,

God bless you,

~Briggie

5 thoughts on “Words, Do Yours Bless or Hurt?

  1. Please Pray for my daughter in law. She had a cancerous brain tumor removed, now has lung cancer & has had 10 radiation treatments. Tues they will check to see when they will start 4 weeks of chemo…PLEASE….PLEASE…….. PLEASE PRAY for her, so when she has the check up, the cancer will NO longer be there…. I thank you so veryyyyyyyyy much.. God Bless you ((ALL)).. God loves you & so do we..Thanksssssssssssssss…Rose

  2. Briggitte,
    I needed this at this time in my life. Thank you so much. Hope you continue with your regular Sunday posts as I really miss them. God Bless. Hope Jose’ is doing better.
    Love,
    Doris

Leave a Reply

