Advent 2011 Day 8

I was reminiscing about Christmas’ past and thought I’d share some of my favorite childhood Christmas memories. 

It just wasn’t Christmas for me as a kid until I saw Santa sledding on a Norelco Electric Shaver. How awesome is it that we now have Google so we can search for things from the past and continue to enjoy them – who would have thought it would be possible!

I love the smell of a fresh cut Canadian Balsam, but I loved sitting in front of my Grandmom Palermo’s Aluminum tree with the color wheel.  (this isn’t her tree but it’s close enough)tree2

I loved all the wonderful candy I would find in my stocking like the Lifesaver story bookcandy, chocolate foil wrapped coinscandy2, ribbon candycandy3, candy coated chocolate strawscandy4, and gold rocks bubble gumcandy5, but my favorite was the toy shaped sugar lollipops – or glycerin candy.  I have such a hard time finding them these days and couldn’t even find a picture of them, but they came in a bag with 4 or 5 lollipops.  They were red, green and yellow and came in different shapes.  I remember one was a chicken, and another a tree.  They were pure sugar and yummy.  While searching I found another lollipop we would get but I still liked those other lollipops a lot morecandy6.

I couldn’t wait to watch How the Grinch Stole Christmas, Frosty the Snowman, Santa Claus is Coming to Town and Jack Frost. They are still some of my favorite movies.  One year, my dad took me to the movie theater to see Albert Finney in Scrooge.  I never forgot how much fun we had and I watch it every year.  I love the story so much I have several versions of it and I am ashamed to say this, being such an avid reader, but until this year, I never took the time to read the original story by Charles Dickens.  Great story, I highly recommend it. 

movie3movie2moviemovie4movie5movie6

toyAnd I would be lying if I didn’t say I loved all the cool toys, like my first Barbie doll, toy2my princess vanity table, nurse’s kit, toy3and all the dollies like baby tumblestoy6 or baby grow a toothtoy4.  But my favorite gift was probably the 20” Baby Blue Schwinn bike I got one year.  It was so beautiful and to top it off, it was warm out that Christmas day so I was able to go outside and take it for a spin.  I loved that bike, however my baby brother loved to take things apart so one year while I was visiting with my Grandmom Palermo, he decided to disassemble it.  The problem was that when he tried to put it back together, there were a few parts left over that shouldn’t have been, if you know what I mean. 

toyy7

Well, I hoped you enjoyed my trip down memory lane.  I have lots of other memories, some good, like going to bed on Christmas Eve with the tree untrimmed, then waking up Christmas morning to see it all lit up and gloriously decorated – by Santa as Mom tells it.  Some bad, like the year I was forced to eat a bowl of Spaghetios but my stomach hurt and I got sick really bad.  With that said, I must say the good ones outweigh and always push away the bad ones, and I would not trade away a single one.  Take care and God bless. ~Briggie

Leave a Reply

