Advent 2011 Day 1

garlandYou can find Advent calendars in the stores in all shapes, sizes and varieties and I saw a little girl in the store the other day asking her daddy if she could buy the one (conveniently placed by the store right at the check out counter) with the chocolate in it.  I could see the heartbreak in his expression and with a heavy sigh he had to say no.  It got me thinking though, she wasn’t interested in the calendar, or what the meaning of the advent was, but it was the candy inside that got her attention.

I have decided to post my own advent each day and since you can’t open my calendar and get a toy or treat I thought I would simply share a thought, poem, scripture or whatever strikes my fancy.  I realize it’s late in the day, but by my clock I still have 63 minutes until this day is over, so here goes…

Day 1give

Tis better to give than to receive?  A dear friend who went home to be with the Lord last year would always tell me that in order to receive, you needed to give.  And if you gave with a grateful and thankful heart you would receive abundantly.  Today’s advent is a task that will benefit you and someone else.  Go through your cabinets and see what non-perishable items you might be able to donate to your local food pantry or church.  In doing so, you will put your cabinets in order, find out what items need to be re-stocked, and bless someone who is in need.  Or, if you cannot give food items, perhaps you have some blankets or coats or shoes that can be donated.  You will provide warmth to someone in need and free up some closet/storage space.

“…give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together, running over, will be put into your lap; for the measure you give will be the measure you get back." Luke 6:38

God bless you and keep you in His care. 

garland

~Briggie ^i^

Leave a Reply

