Set Your Day

Well, things have been so hectic here the past few months, more specifically that past 4-5 weeks.  My husband has been very ill, and now is on the road to recovery (I haven’t posted a prayer request but please lift him up to God and ask for continued miraculous healing in his left ankle), all praises to God and thanks to those of you who have lifted us up in prayer.  Our finances have taken yet another downward spiral, my son’s job cut back his hours, my daughter was laid off, my son’s car is dead, my car needed costly repairs, my husband has been out of work for over 2 months due to a series of illnesses and hospitalizations, I lost several weeks from work while caring for my husband and just went back today to be given a warning that my job is jeopardy as I have no more paid time off (I didn’t qualify for FMLA because I wasn’t employed there for a year yet) and my next call out will result in another warning and possible loss of my job, not to mention lots of other day to day problems.  Why am I going on like this??? Well, it’s to say that the enemy is working overtime in my life right now and he is stealing my joy!  I am focusing on what is wrong and not on God!  I am giving in to the defeat and not proclaiming my victory and as I have always said before, I visit my email inbox and there is a message from Joel Osteen Ministries and the message is right on time so you know I have to share it with you too!  God bless you all, Briggie ^i^

To receive daily messages from Joel Osteen Ministries, click HERE

TODAY’S SCRIPTURE

“Set your minds and keep them set on what is above (the higher things), not on the things that are on the earth”
(Colossians 3:2, AMP)

TODAY’S WORD from Joel and Victoria

Have you ever been laying in bed in the morning and out of nowhere you’re reminded of all the mistakes you made yesterday and all the problems you have in your future? That’s the enemy trying to set your mind for a negative, defeated, lousy day, but you don’t have to fall into that trap.

The Scripture says, “Set your mind and keep it set on the higher things.” This tells us that we have to be proactive. We have to stay on the offensive. When you get up in the morning, have the attitude that David did in the Psalms and say, “This is another day the Lord has made! No matter how I feel, no matter what the economy looks like, no matter what the medical report says, I am choosing to rejoice. I am choosing to be happy this day.” You know what you’re really saying? You’re saying, “I’m not going to let other people steal my joy today. I’m not going to let disappointments and setbacks discourage me. I’m not going to focus on my problems and my mistakes. I’m making up my mind to embrace everything the Lord has in store for me!”

A PRAYER FOR TODAY

Father in heaven, I choose to set my day by setting my mind on things above. I choose to shake off the cares of yesterday and focus on everything You have in store for me. In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

One thought on “Set Your Day

  1. You are not alone Briggie. This verse is an encouragement to me:

    2 Corinthians 4:7-12 (New King James Version)

    Cast Down but Unconquered

    7 But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellence of the power may be of God and not of us. 8 We are hard-pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair; 9 persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed— 10 always carrying about in the body the dying of the Lord Jesus, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our body. 11 For we who live are always delivered to death for Jesus’ sake, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh. 12 So then death is working in us, but life in you.

Comments are closed.