Ben Stein’s "expelled"

landing_ben_main 18expelled-600

There is a movie that hit theaters today by Ben Stein called “Expelled” and I HIGHLY recommend this movie to everyone.  It is not a “christian” movie but rather a documentary on Darwinism versus Intelligent Design.  Ben Stein has done an outstanding job and in my humble opinion should receive an award and critical acclaim.

This is a must see movie.  I cannot put into words the roller coaster of emotions this movie took me through, I can however say that I will be telling everyone I know about it and encourage them to see it.

I didn’t think there would be many people in the theater to see this movie, but I was pleasantly surprised to see over half the seats full.  Once the movie began, you could hear a pin drop – the silence spoke volumes.

Now, it has always been my habit to clap for good movies and stay for the rolling credits, and it was so wonderful to see that I was not alone when I began clapping as the movie ended.

My husband and I had some wonderful conversation as we drove home and we both would like to go back and see it again.

For more information go to www.expelledthemovie.com

7 thoughts on “Ben Stein’s "expelled"

  1. I feel that none of the three first responses were actually read!

    “I do not think at any point in my post or anywhere in the movie does anyone say they can’t.”

    That’s the point. The movie sets up a false dichotomy, and they left out christian evolutionists like biologist Ken Miller on purpose because “he would have confused the message of the film unnecessarily”(!).

    “The whole point of the movie is to reveal the silent removal of one’s freedom to think and explore their belief in the scientific world.”

    And this point is bogus because if one’s science isn’t proper, one has no voice in science. One has to do actual science, and the ID movement does NOT do science.

    However, there are LOTS of scientists who question evolution and do ACTUAL SCIENCE, and they are just fine. Example here, under “Questioning Darwinism” (continues on page 5:

    http://www.sciam.com/article.cfm?id=ben-steins-expelled-review-michael-shermer&page=4

    “Do you believe that you should have the right to explore both sides of an issue?”

    No one is preventing ANYONE from doing this. However, Expelled is dishonestly CLAIMING that this is not allowed, but this has been shown to be a blatant lie. Expelled is all about forcing religion on people, not on exploring both sides.

    Or are you saying that Holocaust denial should be taught in history class?

    That the theory that children come with the stork should be taught in biology?

    That alchemy should be taught in chemistry?

    That astrology should be tauught in astronomy?

    “those that want to explore their ID theory are being silenced”

    As I have said, this is a blatant lie. The problem with ID is that its proponents are NOT DOING SCIENCE. They are

    “I do NOT believe I descended from and ape or monkey. I choose to believe I was created in God’s image and that He is the great designer.”

    So you think God is so powerless that he could not have used evolution to create the diversity of life? That he could not have created the laws of nature that causes evolution?

    If so, then you must also claim that God carves out every single snow flake by hand, as he could not possibly have created the laws of nature that cause snow crystals to form!

    “if we descended from apes or monkeys, why are there still apes and monkeys roaming the earth? Why didn’t they all evolve?”

    This is an old creationist argument which shows a lack of understanding of the issue. We and today’s great apes have a COMMON ANCESTOR. We did not evolve from today’s apes. If you want to know more about how evolution works, might I suggest picking up a biology text book..?

    “If the theory of evolution is the end all be all, then shouldn’t we be able to trace back to the very beginning?”

    Just because we don’t have every single piece of the puzzle doesn’t mean that ALL known data today (and that is a HUGE amount) shows that evolution is correct.

    “I am simply trying to get the word out about the movie.”

    That’s too bad because the film is a dishonest hit piece.

    “I don’t think you and I watched the same movie, at least not from the same perspective.”

    The problem is that you automatically believe all the lies that were made in the movie.

    “I believe everyone has a right to their own opinion and belief system and they have the right to explore their theories and should not be hindered or ostricized because they go against the system.”

    I don’t understand what you are trying to say. No one has hindered anyone from doing so. But what has been done is to prevent the ID crowd from circumventing the scientific process and getting scientific recognition without doing actual research. THIS is what Expell promotes: Label anything as science without having to do science!

    “Why is it that those who are steadfast believers in evolution feel the need to cry religion to those that are looking for an alternative answer?”

    ID is religion, as ruled by the conservative, christian, Bush-appointed (on recommendation from creationist senator Rick Santorum) Judge Jones in the Dover trial.

  2. Geez, thanks for stopping by and commenting on my post. As I stated in my reply to Soz, I don’t have the knowledge to comment on ID or Darwinism as some however, I am simply trying to get the word out about the movie. I think Ben Stein did an excellent job. I don’t think you and I watched the same movie, at least not from the same perspective. I came to the movie with no preconceived ideas and that’s how I left the movie. I believe everyone has a right to their own opinion and belief system and they have the right to explore their theories and should not be hindered or ostricized because they go against the system. Why is it that those who are steadfast believers in evolution feel the need to cry religion to those that are looking for an alternative answer?

  3. Soz, thanks for stopping by and asking your question and giving your statement. As for your question, the movie didn’t focus on Stalin as much as it did Hitler so I can’t answer that for you. As for many christians believing in evolution and the Pope believing in evolution, I believe that they have every right to their opinion and belief. I do not think at any point in my post or anywhere in the movie does anyone say they can’t. The whole point of the movie is to reveal the silent removal of one’s freedom to think and explore their belief in the scientific world. Did you see the movie? Do you believe that for every point there is a counter point? Do you believe that you should have the right to explore both sides of an issue? Darwin was only able to come up with his theory because he had the freedom to do so, but those that want to explore their ID theory are being silenced. I do not presume to have the scientific background or intelligence to speak on this topic as some claim to do, I am simply passing along the word. Now, as for my personal opinion, I do NOT believe I descended from and ape or monkey. I choose to believe I was created in God’s image and that He is the great designer. I have a question for you, if we descended from apes or monkeys, why are there still apes and monkeys roaming the earth? Why didn’t they all evolve? If the theory of evolution is the end all be all, then shouldn’t we be able to trace back to the very beginning?

  4. Just a simple question:

    Does the movie ever mention the fact that Stalin rejected evolution because he thought it led to capitalism?

    If not, why do you think that is?

  5. It’s too bad that the film falls flat on its face for several reasons:

    1. The so-called “expelled” people in the film weren’t actually expelled. Sternberg, for example, wasn’t fired. His tenure was over at that time anyway! So why does the film lie about this?

    2. The ID movement itself is extremely censorship happy. Have you ever looked at Dembski’s own blog? He actively censors comments and bans people who don’t agree with him. What was that about freedom of speech again?

    3. The film sets up a false dichotomy between evolution and religion, and it only shows you one side of the story. It does not show you all the christians who accept evolution, as that would have shown the premise of the film to be flawed. In fact, when asked why well known christian biologist and evolutionist Ken Miller wasn’t interviewed, producer Mark Mathis candidly admitted that it “would have confused the message of the film unnecessarily”.

    4. Even the leaders of the ID movement admit that they have no real research. So why do they want to circumvent the scientific process and force their religion into science? If they want to be taken seriously as scientists, they need to produce research!

    Then you have things like the fact that both Hitler and Stalin rejected evolution, so why are they mentioned at all? Furthermore, what does it matter? Evolution doesn’t become more or less correct depending on whether Hitler or Stalin accepted ir or not.

    In the end, Expelled is a dishonest hit-piece which seeks to undermine science and replace it with religion. It lies about things like the Sternberg case. It makes false claims about academic freedom (the problem with the ID movement is that it wants to be considered scientific without doing all the hard scientific research). And so on.

Leave a Reply

