Daylight "Savings" time?

Okay, so last year there was this big announcement that Daylight Savings Time would no longer be observed.  Okay, so why did we have to “leap” on Sunday?  If it was originally intended to help farmers, and is no longer needed, why are we still doing it?

How was your leap?  Mine was pretty yucky!  To begin with, the wind has been howling for the past 4 days.  Apparently a tornado touched down not far from our house – Thank You Lord for Your covering and protection of our home – and caved in the roof of a nearby high school and it’s office building.  Now when I say nearby, I mean nearby.  The school is maybe an 8 minute drive from our house, that’s close!

The wind brought with it rain and weird temperatures, cold then warm, then cold again and even a bit humid on Saturday.  All the pressure changes brought on a major migraine that is still lingering and an uneasy feeling in my stomach.

Saturday my husband and I set our clocks then turned in for the night with hopes of getting up early, having some breakfast and heading to church.  Well, things did not go according to plan.  My husband had a rough night, he suffered in pain and tossed and turned all night.  This kept me up as well, and I wasn’t able to fall asleep until around 3:30am.

When I woke up a 8am, I prayed that God would remove my headache so I could go to church.  I knew at that point that my husband would not be able to go, and unless my migraine subsided, I wasn’t going to be able to drive.  I laid my head back on the pillow hoping a few minutes of rest and prayer would get me going, however by 9:15am I knew that church was out of the question.  Praise God that we have the Internet, our bibles and nearly a dozen Christian channels so that we could still have church at home.  The only thing missing from having church at home is the fellowship and worship.  Thankfully we have Wednesday evening Bible Study!

Oh yeah, my reason for this post – if we didn’t have to set our clocks ahead an hour, I would have been able to go to church!  I say this because around 10, 10:30am I felt better and could have asked my son to drive me to church.  If the clocks weren’t set ahead, this would have been around 9, 9:30am and while I might have missed some of the praise and worship, I would have made it to hear the Word!

I don’t know about anyone else, but daylight savings time really messes up my internal clock for a few days which quite frankly is pretty messed up already!  I say we end it once and for all and just let the days and nights progress without help or hindrance from us!

One thought on “Daylight "Savings" time?

  1. I for one would like to leave the clocks and
    all my watches alone. It’s a pain in the butt
    as I have about 11 clocks in my apartment,
    several watches and just when I think I’m done
    I get in the car to go to the store & realize I’
    forgot the clock in the car – more fun.

Leave a Reply

