The Solid Rock

This was written by Edward Mote in 1834 even though it was introduced in 1837 by David Denham as being written by Rees, (I’m not sure if he is referring here to Timothy or William Rees).  This mistaken identity was due to Mote’s submission of the lyrics to a fellow brother in Christ for his wife to read during her illness and Mote had failed to put his name or initials on the copy.

In 1836, Edward Mote published his own book Hymns of Praise and this song was listed.  Some may call it “old timey” but I call it wonderful.  You can check out other Gospel Hymns over at The Cyber Hymnal.

 

The Solid Rock

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly trust in Jesus’ Name.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

When darkness seems to hide His face,
I rest on His unchanging grace.
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

His oath, His covenant, His blood,
Support me in the whelming flood.
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh may I then in Him be found.
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

One thought on “The Solid Rock

  1. 1. Pray that God will provide me with resources to build a family house.
    2. Pray that God will provide me with college fees for my children to study in UK.
    3. Pray that Khumbo Nyemba will be a God fearing girl.
    4. Pray that God will provide me with a God fearing husband from UK.
    5. Pray that God will provide me with a good paying job at African Bible College.

Leave a Reply

