My Daily Cleaning System

Okay, we all have our opinions about house-cleaning.  There are those that approach it with great joy and zeal, and those (like me) that look at it with great trepidation and distaste.  Now don’t get me wrong – I love it when my house is clean.  I just prefer that I not be the one to clean it!

When I was a career woman, I was able to afford a weekly cleaning service and while I must admit there were times that I was less than pleased with the way they cleaned, I was glad I wasn’t the one doing the cleaning.

Now that I am a SAHM, I am my own cleaning service and if I could, I’d fire me!  I’ve been trying to come up with a system that will help keep me on track so that dust and dirt won’t build up and make the chore of cleaning harder than it has to be, and this is what I’ve come up with:

Mop it up Monday

Tackle the Tubby Tuesday

Windex the Windows Wednesday

Twirl the Duster Thursday

Flip the Beds Friday

Splish Splash Saturday

Sit and rest Sunday

Okay, now that I’ve given each day a “catch phrase” here’s what each day entails:

Mop it up Monday – Sweep the kitchen, bathroom and stairs.  Vacuum the rugs.  Mop the kitchen, bathroom and stairs.  All in that order!  Time spent cleaning – 1 hour.

Tackle the Tubby Tuesday – Scrub the tub, toilet and sink.  I also clean the kitchen sink and wipe down the counters, stove and fridge. Time spent cleaning – 1 1/2 hours.

Windex the windows Wednesday – Now, since windows don’t really need to be wiped down every week, I’ve broken it down:

Week 1 – Windex the Front and Back doors. Time spent cleaning – 30 minutes.

Week 2 – Windex the living room and kitchen windows. Time spent cleaning – 1 hour.

Week 3 – Windex the downstairs bedrooms and bathroom windows.( I make my son do his own bedroom windows.) Time spent cleaning – 45 minutes.

Week 4 – Windex the upstairs and basement windows. ( Again, I make my kids do their own bedrooms!) Time spent cleaning – 30 minutes.

Twirl the duster Thursday – Dust the living room, bedrooms, downstairs and upstairs. (I have my kids do their own room.) Time spent cleaning – 2 hours.

Flip the beds Friday – Change the sheets and flip the mattresses.  (Everyone does their own beds!) I also flip the sofa and loveseat cushions. Time spent cleaning – 2 hours (includes washing, drying sheets)

Splish Splash Saturday – Saturday is laundry day!  The kids do their own laundry throughout the week and hubby prefers to do his own laundry and he does his on Sunday.  Time spent cleaning 2-3 hours (includes washing, drying, folding and putting away)

Sit and rest Sunday – Sunday’s should be our day of rest in the Lord.  So NO house-work gets done! Time spent cleaning – Zero, Zip, Nada, Zilch, Nein, Non, Nao, Nr!

Now, I do enlist the help of my kids, which I will preface by saying they are ages 26, 20 and 14 so they are old enough to take care of their own rooms, laundry and help out with chores around the house!  And I will also say that I’ve required them to help out with chores from the time they were wee ones! 

Once I broke all the things that needed cleaning down, and realized that it didn’t amount to more than an hour or 2 most days, the thought of cleaning wasn’t as overwhelming or dreadful as I first though it would be.  I will also say that if for some reason I don’t do a certain day’s chores, I don’t beat myself up and stress out about it.  I do what I can and move on because after all, it will be there tomorrow and since tomorrow isn’t promised to us and there is always the possibility that Jesus will return, why worry – you won’t be around to deal with it anyway!!!

Leave a Reply

