Favorite Ingredients Friday

Thanks to OWJ for hosting this weekly Meme.

My idea for this week came when my husband asked me to make my Seafood Nachos for their office luncheon today. I figured I could kill two birds with one stone – make him the nachos and post the recipe and picture for today’s FIF. I shop at Aldi’s (I mention this a lot on my blog) and I was able to get everything for this recipe except for the canned Chilies and Scallions, so when I made them today, they were “sans” chilies and scallions. 

What You’ll Need

1 Package of Lobster Mates or Crab Mates (no need for the real stuff)

1 Bag Tortilla Chips (I like using the round kind)

12-16 ounces shredded Cheese (I like to combine taco cheese and cheddar cheese and I like a lot of cheese)

1 can of Chili Beans or Black Beans, lightly rinsed and drained

1 can Pitted Black Olives, diced

2 Large Tomatoes, diced

2 cans diced Green Chilies, optional

1 bunch Scallions, diced, optional

Garlic Powder

Baking Spray

Cookie Sheet

Sour Cream, Salsa and Guacamole are optional but they take the nachos to a whole new level and help with your daily dairy and veggie intake!

How To Prepare

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Lightly spray a cookie sheet with baking spray.  Layer a bag of tortilla chips evenly on the cookie sheet.  Lightly sprinkle some garlic powder over the chips.  Finely chop the crab meat and take handfuls of the crab meat and evenly spread it over the chips. Now, take handfuls of the beans and sprinkle them over the crab, and do the same for the olives, tomatoes, chilies and onions.  Sprinkle lightly with garlic powder.  Now, take handfuls of the cheese and evenly spread over the top making sure you cover every inch of the chips, beans, tomatoes, etc…

Place the sheet on the middle rack of the oven and bake 15 minutes or until cheese is melted but not browned or burnt.  Sometimes I take a pizza cutter and make three passes across horizontally, and 4-5 passes vertically to create even portions and it makes it easier for people to scoop some onto their plates!

I made this huge batch (my cookie sheets are really big) of Seafood Nachos for under $10 and here’s my before and after baking photos.

 P2280059     P2280060

6 thoughts on “Favorite Ingredients Friday

  1. you can switch up the ingredients too – seasoned ground beef, diced cooked chicken, diced shrimp – yum yum yummy…thanks for stopping by!

  2. hi betsy, they are just so easy to make, easy on the pocketbook and yummy to eat….i’ve already been told that i need to make them this weekend – or else! take care and thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

