Works for Me Wednesday – Cinna-Mallow Rolls

wfmwsmall

The other day my daughter and her friend were in the kitchen conjuring up a recipe her friend learned in Home Ec.  Interestingly enough I had all the ingredients on hand and they were really tasty so I decided to come up with my own rendition and I’m sharing it with you. – ** I’ve been asked to post a picture, so tomorrow when I make some, I’ll snap a photo and update my post!

Here are the pictures – I was going to take some as I prepared them, but the battery was dead – sorry!  I should also mention that they don’t look so pretty once you take them out of the pan – but never judge a book by it’s cover or a Cinna-Mallow Roll by it’s flatness or brokeness – they are Good Eats!!!  I should also mention that clean-up can be a breeze if you immediately soak the pans in really hot water for about 5 minutes.  This gives you plenty of time to pour a glass of milk and shove a roll in your mouth before the water even starts to cool!  Enjoy!

Before Baking cinna-mallow-rolls-1.jpg    After Baking  cinna-mallow-rolls-2.jpg  And did I mention how awesome the whole house smells?????

You’ll Need –

2 cans of Crescent Rolls (I shop at Aldi’s and they’re really cheap there)

2 Tsp Cinnamon

1/2 Cup Sugar

Large Marshmallows*

1/2 Stick of Butter

Baking Spray

Muffin Pans

Pastry brush

* I recommend leaving the Marshmallows out a day or two so they get hard – they hold up better while baking.

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

Mix the cinnamon and sugar in a bowl – set aside.  I recommend putting a little of the sugar mixture in a separate bowl for sprinkling on top of the rolls.  Spray the muffin pans with a baking spray or lightly grease with Crisco or butter.  Melt 1/2 stick of butter.  Separate the crescents and using your hands press the dough so it’s a bit thinner and wider, then brush one side with butter.  Dip 2 marshmallows in the butter then roll them in the sugar mixture and place them on the roll at the wide end.  Roll the crescent starting at the wide end and tuck the points underneath and place in the muffin pan.  Do this for all the crescents and when they are all in the pan, brush the tops with butter and sprinkle with the sugar mixture.  Bake for 8-10 minutes or until golden brown.  The marshmallows will melt creating a gooey mixture, let them cool in the pan for just a minute or so, then using a butter knife loosen the roll and carefully lift to a plate. They are so good if you eat them while they are still warm – mmmm.

I’ve thought about some variations, like sprinkling mini chocolate baking chips on the crescents before adding the marshmallows – or finely chopping pecans and raisins and adding them before the marshmallows – mmm….gonna try them out tomorrow!

Make sure you click on the Works For Me Wednesday button and check out all the other great entries!  Thanks Shannon for hosting such a great way for bloggers to share ideas and connect!

12 thoughts on “Works for Me Wednesday – Cinna-Mallow Rolls

  1. Dear Wifey – you have no idea what you’re missing, you’ve got to try these! Dear Nikki – i wasn’t going to make these today but Amy wanted a picture and then while I was making them I couldn’t resist peeling the gooey left-overs from the muffin pan….yummy…made me feel like Homer Simpson… Dear Pinkaholic Mom – I really think that today more than ever schools should have Home Ec because of the working moms – it’s sad that schools are taking it out of their programs – i welcome any ideas on improving the recipe! Dear Linda – what are you waiting for – heat up that oven and work it girl!!! Thanks to everyone that stopped by and took some time to leave me a comment, I love hearing from ya’ll!

  2. Amy, wish granted, will snap a picture tomorrow when I make up a batch! Phyllis, oh so gooey and oh so sinful…Everychapter – it’s very easy to eat your way into a sugar coma with these so instead of 2 cans, just make 1 can!!!

Leave a Reply

