A Clean Mammogram – Praise God

Last year this time I was taking all kinds of pre-tests in preparations for my Gastric Bypass.  One of the things I had to take care of was my annual Mammogram, which was about 2 years over-due.  I hate, no, I detest having to get this done. 

I am very large breasted and though they have gotten smaller with the weight loss, they are still big.  I hate that I have to try and stand there while the technician has to pull and push and move and stretch my “girls”, then watch her flatten them beyond recognition anywhere from 6-8 times and then pray that the films come out okay so we don’t have to submit to a command performance and do it all over again. 

I’ve never worried about breast cancer, no one in my family has it so it never crossed my mind that I would ever hear the words, “we’ve found something and need to take more films”. 

Well, last year, I was told they found a small lump and wanted to take care of it right away.  What??? Wait a minute, you found what?  Well, things happened so fast, one minute I was having more films taken and the next I was speaking to a Breast Surgeon.  A BREAST SURGEON!!!  I was still trying to funnel all this in and now they were talking about finding not one lump but two and they were connected and peanut shaped and they tend to present cancer when they’re shaped like this and it’s best to just remove them and biopsy them rather than have to biopsy them and then find you have to remove them so let’s get the procedure scheduled today………Uhm, uh, wha-, uh, who, uhm, huh?

Now I have another reason to hate my breasts.  Well, the good news here is that they do a Needle-Loc prior to removing the lumps.  This procedure involves them taking digital pictures of the breast to locate the lump(s), then they mark the spot with a laser, insert a needle where the lump(s) are which makes it easier for the surgeon to locate them and then they take more digital pictures to make sure the needle is in position.  All was going great, they took the shots, found the lumps, inserted the needle and took more shots but couldn’t find the lumps anymore.  They were all pretty much amazed – they were there one minute, we all saw them, and then they were gone!  They checked and re-checked and checked again and no lumps – PRAISE GOD!!  Everyone was shouting and excited and saying it was a miracle and how wonderful it was that I didn’t have to go through with the surgery and wasn’t I so happy!!??  Happy, I was floating!  I was told I would have to have follow-up Mammo’s every six months, but since it was only the left one that would be a walk in the park. 

Well, the first follow-up showed the lumps had returned.  This didn’t dampen my spirits, it just put me back into caution mode.  They had me go back 3 months later and that follow-up showed the lumps were still there, but there was no change in size or shape so they determined that I could resume annual check-ups and would just take extra films of the left breast to make sure nothing significant happened, which brings me to today. 

I was pleasantly surprised to find they had upgraded to digital machines which means less tugging and pressing and immediate results!  She took the first set (one on each side) and she was gentle and quick.  Then she took the second set which was a tiny bit uncomfortable but nothing compared to past experiences.  She wanted to take one more shot of the left breast, but not because of the lump – it was because since I’ve lost so much weight (apparently a lot of it in my boobs) there was extra skin that caused a shadow and she wanted to get a better shot.  Well, that went off without a hitch and when I asked her how the lumps looked, she said – “what lumps?”  I said “the ones in my left breast!”  She invited me to check out the monitor and guess what – NO LUMPS!  The images were so clear and there was no denying it – the lumps are GONE!  PRAISE GOD, THANK YOU JESUS! 

I don’t have to go back until February 2009 and since they’ve gone digital, I’m not dreading making that appointment or keeping it for that matter!!

Father, Master of the Universe from Whom all blessings flow, thank you for  my healing.  Thank you for Your grace and mercy and for all You are doing in my life.  I give You all the glory and honor and praise and know that You are in control over every area of my life and give You permission to use me as You see fit.

3 thoughts on “A Clean Mammogram – Praise God

  1. Dear Genika, thank you so much for taking the time to visit and share in my joy! Isn’t God wonderful? We may not always receive the answers we are looking for, but He in His infinite wisdom and grace knows what is best for us. I am full of joy and stand in awe of His power. I praise Him for your testimony and pray that He will bless you abundantly over and above all you could ever pray for. May He make His face to shine upon you and grant you the peace that only He can bring. In the mighty name of Jesus, Amen.
    Briggie ^i^

  2. HALLELUUUUUUJAH!!! Glory to God, the Master Physician!

    I am happy for you, my Sister. I have a similar testimony and praise report, so I can understand on many levels. God is good!

    May the God all heaven and earth continue to work miracles in and through you for His glory! May you continue to have such awesome praise reports that inspire others and turn their attention to Christ Jesus. May you be bountifully blessed for your obedience to spread His Good News and to testify of what He has done in your life. In Jesus’ name I pray, amen!

    God bless you, Sis! To God be the glory!

    ~ Genikwa Williams

Leave a Reply

