De-cluttering My House Days 19 & 20

I spent the past 2 days finishing up the book Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen, which is somewhat of a de-cluttering as it has cleared a book off my nightstand and since my daughter wants to read it, it’ll even leave the house!  Woo-hoo!  This was a compelling story and the only negative thing I must report about the book is the occasional use of profanity which was totally un-necessary and the author could have refrained from the usage and still had a wonderful novel.  Now that I’m done this book, I’ll be able to finish And The Angels Were Silent, The Final Week of Jesus by Max Lucado and get that book off my nightstand.  I won’t be starting any other books for awhile because I really want to focus on the courses I’ve signed up for through Online Bible College and Benny Hinn Ministries and I consider this de-cluttering as it is something that I have left unfinished and it’s in the back of my mind causing me stress because I started something that I know God wanted me to do and I’ve let it fall by the wayside.

I’m still catching up on my DVR recordings and I’m making great headway.  I’ve said it before, watching these messages help me to de-clutter my mind and spirit and has rekindled my desire to become closer to God and walk in His plan and purpose for my life.  I long to hear Him again and getting the clutter out of  my head is the best way to start.

I started to go through and iSlice some of my other magazines and have earmarked tomorrow as the day to finish going through all of my magazines and pamphlets so that I can cross that off my to do list.

I’ve noticed a real decrease in the amount of emails I receive from when I went through my inbox and started unsubscribing to some emails so that de-cluttering effort is already paying off.  Sometime ago I wrote a post about how you can stop getting telemarketing calls by placing yourself on the Do Not Call list as well reducing your junk mail by getting on the Do Not Send list.  It took a few months but I’ve noticed a real decrease in the amount of junk mail in my mailbox.  This is great not only for me, but for the environment – less stuff for me to shred, less trees being cut down to make the paper that I end up shredding.

Well, that’s all for today, time to sit down and relax with the hubby and chat about his day, then clean up the dinner dishes and then I’m off to my bedroom by 8pm when American Idol will be streaming into my living room holding my husband and daughter captive – UGH, when will it stop!

Leave a Reply

