Aloha Friday – Week 17

 

alohafriday5

Kailani hosts this weekly meme and in her words:  In Hawaii, Aloha Friday is the day that we take it easy and look forward to the weekend. So I thought that on Fridays I would take it easy on posting, too. Therefore, I’ll ask a simple question for you to answer. Nothing heavy or thought-provoking. If you’d like to participate, just post your own question on your blog and leave your link below. Don’t forget to visit the other participants!

 

So here is my question for this week:

What book(s) are you reading right now?

Cover Image

My daughter gave me a book for Christmas called Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen.  When I read fiction, I usually stick to certain authors, but she thought i’d enjoy this book.  The story line is really good, it’s about a man at the end of his life in a nursing home and the circus comes and it brings back memories from when he worked in the circus.  The only problem I have with this book is when the language gets explicit, so I skip over those parts.  The author could have refrained from using profanity and still have a compelling story.

 

Cover Image

I have read a lot of books by Max Lucado, he’s one of my favorite authors, but this must be his best ever.  The chapters are short, some are humorous and some sad but each one is thought provoking.  While each chapter tells a different story they all relate to Jesus and His last week on earth.  Lucado has a way of making you feel like you are right there, he transports you back in time and brings it all alive to you.

Make sure you head over to An Island Life and check out the other participants and their questions and be sure to leave a comment for Kailani!

 

Cover Image

I keep this with me at all times.  It has 3 of Charles Capp’s books in one.  It has God’s Creative Power for Healing, God’s Creative Power for Finances and God’s Creative Power Will Work for You.  I highly recommend getting this and get extra copies to give as gifts.  Charles Capps taps into God’s Word to help us prosper financially, in our health and our lives. 

6 thoughts on “Aloha Friday – Week 17

  1. Presently I’m reading “Ten Things I Wish I’d Known” by Maria Shriver.
    I’m starting “The Spiderwick Chronicles” with my 7 year old grandson. I bought them for him last summer and he’s already read them but we want to read them together before the movie comes out.

Leave a Reply

