Interceding For Our Children

Laura from Laura William’s Musings posted this on her blog and she found it at Interceding For Our Children and I couldn’t agree more.  Since it’s the new year and everyone is thinking about ways to clean up around the house and get rid of the clutter and junk, this ties in quite nicely.  It’s house-cleaning of a spiritual nature.  The idea is taken from the book Power of a Praying Parent by Stormie Omartin (page 130), where you go around the house and into the kid’s rooms and pray for them before a specific need arises!  Kind of like preventive medicine – only better because it’s Holy Spirit medicine!  Here’s the prayer:

I invite Your Holy Spirit to dwell in this room, which belongs to (insert name(s) here).  You are Lord over heaven and earth, and I proclaim that You are Lord over this room as well.  Flood it with Your light and life.  I pray that nothing will come into this room that is not brought by You, Lord.  If there is anything here that shouldn’t be, show me so it can be taken out.

“Nor shall you bring an abomination into your house, lest you be doomed to destruction like it.” Deuteronomy 7:26

“Have mercy upon me, O God, according to Your loving kindness; according to the multitude of Your tender mercies, blot out my transgressions. Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin.” Psalm 51:1-2

If there are children of any age in your home, praying over them is the best gift you can give them.  Make it a point to stop by Interceding For Our Children every week where you’ll find a new prayer listed because There Is Power In Prayer!!!!

Leave a Reply

