Works For Me Wednesday 5th Edition

wfmwheader So, I’ve been trying to figure out what I could post for this week and a lot of my ideas are stuff for the summer which is nearly over – not to mention today was just too hectic from the word go!  But, an idea hit me as I was preparing dinner so here you go:

Making Your BBQ Grill Work For You!

Everyone loves hot dogs and hamburgers on the grill.  In fact, just about everything tastes better when it’s cooked on the grill, plus the kitchen doesn’t get hot from the oven/stove being on – so that’s always a plus! And who says you have to grill on the weekends? 

Well, here’s an energy saver and a time saver plus a family pleaser all in one.  When I fire up the grill, I don’t just cook a pack of hot dogs or burgers, I cook up a 5 pound box of dogs and 3 dozen frozen sirloin burgers.  I don’t put cheese on the burgers (unless we’re having some for dinner that evening).  After they cool, I put the left over dogs and burgers in freezer ziploc bags.  I put half of them in the freezer and the other half I leave in the fridge.  When the kids are hungry they just heat up a dog or burger (this is when they pop on the cheese) in the microwave and when there’s no time to make a big dinner, I can make some mac-n-cheese a veggie or salad and heat up some burgers and dogs.

I also like to par boil boneless chicken breasts and italian sausage and place them on the grill after the hot dogs and burgers are done.  I let them cool and place them in ziploc bags too, freezing half of each.  (you can put bbq sauce on the chicken now or later!) So, if we want spaghetti and sausage, I just pop some sausage into my “gravy”, yes, Italians call spaghetti sauce gravy!  Or we can cut up some chicken and make an awesome chicken salad, or grilled chicken ceasar salad or brocolli and chicken alfredo with penne pasta!

You can also make awesome grilled vegetables like eggplant, tomatoes, onions, corn, squash, peppers, mushrooms, potatoes or carrots.  Just drizzle some extra virgin olive oil a little salt and pepper and you’re good to go (i use these awesome grill baskets to hold the veggies so i can flip them quick and easy) and they too can be placed in ziploc bags – make sure to grill enough so you can freeze them and have grilled veggies during the winter.  Grilled veggies are excellent in salads, added to soups, used in sandwiches (panini’s) or with some of that awesome left over grilled chicken or sausage.

And let’s not forget STEAKS on the grill!  Take some steak and slice it up and toss it into a salad with blue cheese and roasted  veggies, or cook up some egg noodles, butter them up and add sour cream – then add some cubed steak and you have a quick and tasty beef stroganoff.

Hmmm, I’m getting hungry!  I wonder if there’s a meme that just does recipes??  I’ll have to check it out, maybe we could do a Tasty Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

