A Day Burned Into My Memory

We all have a day or days that stand out in our lives and are burned into our memories.  Our first day of school, our first date, wedding day, birth of our children, etc… But there is one day that everyone in the world shares September 11th.  It was six years ago today, but every year since, September 11th stands alone.

 images I was at work and walking toward my office when I heard one of my co-workers shout “put channel 6 on the television”.  I worked for the local cable company, and we had TV’s in the room so that the reps could see what the customers were seeing when they called in and we normally kept them on CN8.  I was just about at my desk and since I had a small TV set in my office, images2I turned it on to see what all the fuss was for.  At that moment, I could only see the huge hole and smoke pouring out of the first tower and we were wondering as was everyone else, what happened.  I heard one of the reporters mention something about a plane crashing into the building when suddenly I saw the other planeimages3 turning towards the second tower and crash into it.  I could not wrap my mind around what was happening when suddenly the towers began to fall.  WHAT????  What in the name of God was happening?  This could not be real!  It was like the building was being imploded similar to when they collapse old buildings during demolition.

My world stopped at that moment.  My mind instantly raced through the events and landed on the image of my son, who was serving our country in the Navy.  I was instantly gripped with the fear that our country was being attacked by terrorists and that we were going to war and that my son would be caught in the middle of it all.images4

I was glued to the television.  I wanted to hear something that would tell me it was all going to be okay, something that would show me that our country was in control and that this was just a random event – but I would not hear or see anything to that effect.  Instead, the grim reality that faced me only deepened my fears for my son, my family and my country.

That day changed the lives of everyone in the world forever.  Some of the fears I had back then are gone, images8 some have been replaced with other fears and the one thing that keeps resounding in my head is, if I didn’t have Jesus, I don’t know where I’d be right now.  A friend of mine says that she is praying for the salvation of those who committed this horrible act and I think she is right, because it will take an act of God to change the hearts of such blind people.

Both my father and stepdad served in the Navy as did my son Justin, and by the grace of God, they all served their country and came home after their tours ended.  My heart goes out to the mothers and daughters, sisters, brothers, fathers, aunts, uncles, grandmothers, grandfathers, cousins and friends who have loved ones still serving, or have lost someone to this war.  images7 This one day and what it has meant will remain in my memory till the end of my days. 

 images6 God bless our Service Men and Women.  May our leaders be led by the Holy Spirit and the will of God as they watch over our country.images5   May God and His army of angels surround our Armed Forces and see them safely home.  May the peace of our Lord and Savior be with all the families and friends who have loved ones they are waiting to return home to them.  We will never forget that day, no we will never forget!

One thought on “A Day Burned Into My Memory

Leave a Reply

