My Journey Toward A New Life

Okay, so today I saw my primary care doctor, Dr. Joseph Michel.  He’s been my doctor since 1979 and that’s a very, very, very long time.  I wanted to keep him in the loop and bring him up to speed about my surgery and progress.  I was really excited about telling him how much weight I’ve lost and how I’m down to just one of my meds.  My son drove me, I prefer not to drive right now only because I never know when I’m going to get sick, and I don’t want to experience it in my car.  So, anyway, I’m on my way out to the car and HOLY MOLY is it hot.  I felt great till I hit the porch and the heat just sucked the life out of me.  I was sooooo excited to tell everyone at the doctors office about my surgery and even more excited to get on the scale.  Imagine my disappointment when I noticed that his scale was off by almost 3 pounds and not in my favor either!  So, according to the nurse, I weigh 328 pounds, but she never deducted the overage of the scale so now I STILL don’t know how much I really weigh – what a pisser!!  I’m guessing I’m between 322 and 326 pounds so I guess I’ll have to wait another 2 weeks to find out how much I’ve really lost.

I got out again today and walked through Target, the ENTIRE store and no back pain.  I will admit my right knee was a bit sore but as long as I can keep moving – I’m not going to complain.  I’ve found that I have to pace myself, since I did a lot of walking today, I’ll lay a bit low tomorrow and probably slather Sports Creme on my knees and shins.  Then by wednesday I’ll be in fairly good shape to walk again but not as much as I did today.  I’m hoping it won’t be too hot, I’d like to walk to my friends house a few blocks down and stick my feet in her pool! 

I must admit I’m a bit disappointed because I really haven’t eaten much or kept anything down since wednesday, and I may have only lost a little more than 5 pounds this past week.  How stupid does that sound?  I think that first 25 pounds really spoiled me and may have set a false expectation for me.  Oh well, I guess that means I’m human and gullible – I let the father of lies make me think I’d lose at least 10 pounds every week. 

I bought myself what I call a stick blender, but the box said it was an emulsifing blender.  Wow is it cool or what!!  In just a few seconds it turned my nuked sweet potato into a nice creamy souffle.  I sprayed two shots of I can’t believe it’s not butter and a few shakes of salt and then a few more shakes of salt.  Man I’ve found that I hit the salt shaker quite a bit now.  I can only assume it’s because of malabsortion, but then again, I could be wrong.

Oh yeah, backtrack a bit.  When I was done at the doctors office I took a few steps down the hall and dropped in on my dentist.  I’ve read on some message boards on a another site where bariatric patients start to experience problems with their teeth about 6 months after surgery.  Wanna know why???  Well, they are told to drink Gatorade to help with electrolytes, but they aren’t told about the mega sugar content.  When I read that I thought to myself, hey, smart water has electrolytes and Crystal Light singles have flavor.  The only flavors I can tolerate are the regular and pink Lemonade but hey, I can deal with that!  I made out really good at the dentist but I do  have a tooth that for some reason has begun to break down so now I have to see a periodontist and I’ll just say, it’s not going to fun, no – not one bit.  I said all that to say, TAKE CARE OF YOUR TEETH!!!

Not much else is really new so I’ll end for now.  May God richly bless you with health, happiness, joy and love overflowing.  May you have peace that surpasses all understanding and may you come to know His goodness and plan for you.  Take care, ^i^ briggie

2 thoughts on “My Journey Toward A New Life

  1. Thanks Doris, I appreciate your support and always giving me such good feedback. I have started to get help from others that have gone through the same thing I am. I was told about OH, http://www.obesityhelp.com and it’s been very helpful and informative. Take care and God bless.
    Love,
    briggie ^i^

  2. Dear Briggitte,
    You’re really doing quite well keeping up with your journal. Hope you got some response from others that have gone through this with some helpful advice. I’m so proud of you.
    God Bless and take care.
    Love,
    Doris

Leave a Reply

