Weight Loss Surgery

Okay – I’m getting a bit of a complex here.  In my posts under My Journey Toward A New Life, I have asked for those of you out there that have ANY form of Weight Loss Surgery to please share their recipes, and experiences with me.  I’m a little over 2 weeks past my surgery date and I am still not able to keep down more than mashed potatoes, popsicles, jello, pudding and water.  My doctor has me back on liquids because he thinks maybe I tried moving on to new foods too soon.  But it was their idea for me to start adding tuna, chicken and such into my diet.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I do not regret having the surgery – for the first time in years I want to get out, I can fit into my jeans and clothes, I can see my face and neck thinning out and I can even walk and stand more than five minutes without becoming crippled in pain.  I weigh less now than I did when I had my first visit with Dr. Dallal and aside from having trouble getting into a normal sleep pattern and feeling like I’m suffer from bulemia, I’m doing ok and look forward to the coming months.  I just really really really want and need to hear from other people that have had surgery and / or, are going through what I’m going through.  I need to know how long it will be before I have some normalcy to my diet.  I feel like if I only knew, then I could have something to look forward to, something to shoot for – to aim towards.  If there is something I’m not doing right, or anything that I’m doing wrong, I’d love to hear what I can do to fix it.  Am I using the wrong tags, too many tags, not enough tags?  Or is it that no one is really interested in replying?  I’m a big girl – literally, so any feedback you want to offer is always well taken and appreciated, even if it’s to tell me you don’t want to chat.  I’m putting it out there, and if you haven’t checked out my About Me page, please do so, you’ll see that I am totally serious.  I’ve been on message boards before, and unless they approve your comments they don’t get seen.  Now I know we have the ability to do the same thing however with the exception of one time I do not delete comments. (the only reason I deleted the comment was because 1- they included offensive language, and 2- the comments were aggressive and had no real bearing on my post).  I hope there are people out there that will step up and offer their insights.  God bless you all.  briggie ^i^

5 thoughts on “Weight Loss Surgery

  1. you know, i’m going to have to get me a stick blender, maybe that’s the problem. i’ve been using my mini-processor and i have to be honest and say, it isn’t really pureeing it as much as i probably should. thanks for the help and info. you’ve given me a new hope. have a great night….briggie ^i^

  2. I made regular refried beans with melted cheese but I also whizzed up other beans too black beans with salsa and a little sour cream, cannelini beans with a tsp. of pesto sauce. I steamed cauliflower and made a homemade cheese sauce (like for mac & cheese) and whizzed that up. I made alot of homemade soups and used my stick blender to puree them. One of my favorites was crab salad with a squeeze of lime and a dab of mayo whizzed up and and chicken salad with dill or plain yogurt & curry powder or a little pesto sauce, tuna salad with white beans and lemon juice or italian dressing. Egg salad. Corned Beef & Roast Beef Hash. For an Italian fix: ricotta cheese, mozarella, tomato sauce, basil, oregano & parmesan baked in the oven. Hope these help they were ok on my plan but might not be on yours so be sure to check with your Dr.

  3. Hi Michelle, I did not know about ObesityHelp.com, thanks so much. I look forward to reading your blog and will also check out the website. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate you taking the time to reply. thanks for your prayers as well, they are very much accepted and appreciated. God bless and take care…^i^ briggie

Leave a Reply

