My Journey Toward A New Life

Okay, I haven’t been keeping up with my journal, sorry.  I also haven’t posted an updated picture but things here have been just a tad bit hectic the past few days.  No real new developments since monday, however I have had trouble the past day or so keeping food down.  I’ve tried to slowly add some tuna and chicken (whipped in the processor) to my diet and each time I end up getting sick before I even get more than a teaspoon or two in.  I’ve been good about not drinking right before or after a meal and I’ve been chewing no less than 15-20 times and taking time between bites but dag-nab-it I still end up tossing it.  Now I can’t even keep down cottage cheese anymore and I know I can’t survive on mashed potatoes, sugar free popsicles, sugar free lifesavors and smart water.  I know I have to get my protein in.  During my pre-op diet I was able to drink Isopure and was getting 40G protein just from one bottle and I ate protein pudding a few times a day which gave me 12G protein per serving.  Now, I can hardly get it past my lips.  I can’t bring myself to eat jello anymore and now I’m starting to feel that way about the mashed potatoes.  I also noticed that I am craving salt, which is likely due to low pottassium levels.  I chew 6 or more tums a day now even though I should only need 4, I’ve been taking my vitamins and medicine the doctor prescribed for post surgery, and today I couldn’t even get my water in.  HELP!!  I have asked for advice and would like to hear what other people who have had weight loss surgery have to say, please take a moment and share your stories, experience or advice with me.  I’m starting to feel like something is not normal and I should call the doctor but if this is something others have experienced and I will get through, I’d rather go by others who have experienced what I’m going through.

Thanks and God bless.

One thought on “My Journey Toward A New Life

  1. Dear Briggitte,
    I’m so sorry to hear about your struggle. Wish I had an answer for you. All I can offer is my thoughts, prayers and support. If you need me I’m just a phone call away but if this continues you definately need to contact your doctor before you get too weak. God Bless and Take Care. Keep in touch.
    Love, Doris

Leave a Reply

