April 4th – What’s in a word?

Have you ever heard the saying, sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me.  As a child we would rattle off this little saying to all the bullies in the playground.  How wrong we were!  We gave things and actions power over our thoughts and minds.  Make no mistake, words are powerful!  They can be comforting or painful, bring calm or chaos and offer hope or helplessness.  Proverbs 18:21 tells us, Death and life are in the power of the tongue…”  James 1:26 states, “If anyone thinks they are religious, but cannot control their tongue, deceiving their heart, they are fooling themselves.  That persons religion is worthless.”  It reminds me of when I was younger and my parents would say, “If you have nothing nice to say, say nothing at all”.  Zechariah takes this one step further in chapter 8:17, “Also let none of you devise (think) evil in your heart against another, and do not love perjury, for all these are what I hate, declares the Lord.”  This leads me to the saying, “be careful what you wish (think) for, you just might get it!”  How many times have you heard someone or even yourself say, “I don’t feel well”, or “I always get migraines when a storm is coming”, or “This place is such a mess, it makes me sick!” I’ve been reading “Hung by the Tongue”, by Frances P Martin, and it has truly made me think back on things I have said, or been told, and how my words can help or hinder me and those around me.  I can’t tell you how many times I would say, I have a sleeping disorder, I suffer from insomnia.  I would spend the day wondering what time I would fall asleep that evening.  I was spending so much time trying to guard my mouth against profanity and spitefulness, I completely ignored the rest of what I was saying.  I mean, I wasn’t saying anything mean or hurtful about myself, or anyone else, or was I?  Saying I have insomnia isn’t hurtful or destructive, is it?  Was there truly “death” in those words?  Well, I have the answer to those three questions.  Question 1 – YES.  Question 2 – YES.  Question 3 – YES.  I did not realize the power I was giving to my words.  I was claiming that sleeping disorder, declaring I had insomnia, I was giving power to the very thing I was asking God to deliver me from.  The moment I received that revelation, I reclaimed power over my sleep.  I took back what the enemy  had stolen from me.  I’m not perfect, and even though I focus more on what I say and think, I still catch myself falling back on bad habits.  It’s a work in progress, and I know I will overcome and prevail!  Have you ever said something you regret, or wish you could take back?  Regain your power!  Keep your mind and heart focused on God.  Keep His words on your lips at all times. Solomon wrote in Proverbs 23:7, For as a man thinketh in his heart, so is he…”  I highly recommend, Hung by the Tongue. Another excellent book that helps us take a look at our thoughts is, The Dream Giver, by Bruce Wilkinson.  God bless you and keep you in His care.

Leave a Reply

