April 3rd – Passover or Easter?

Most Christians today use the New Testament for their reading and bible study, while most Jewish people use the Old Testament.  Until recently, I believed that when Christ was crucified, buried and rose again, I did not need the Old Testament unless I wanted a “history lesson”.  Then one day I was watching Paula White, and she was speaking about the Day of Atonement (Yom Kippur) and Rosh Hashanah (the Jewish New Year) and how they apply to Christians today, which got me thinking about our Jewish roots, because after all, Jesus was a Jew.  Plus, now that I have DirectTv and can’t believe how many channels I have access to for christian programming, I was browsing I found, Discovering the Jewish Jesus, http://www.wlmb.com/, hosted by Messianic Jewish Rabbi Kirt Schneider,  and Zola Levitt Presents, http://www.levitt.com/, hosted by Dr. Jeffrey Seif and Sandra Levitt. (Zola passed away in April 2006.  His family honors his achievements and continues to spread his ministry)

I would like to challenge you to explore the first five books of the bible, also known as The Five Books of Moses, The Pentatuech and The Torah.  There are websites that can guide you, and several that offer study courses.  You know, I’ve heard it said that, “there is nothing more powerful than a Hebrew who accepts Jesus as The Messiah / Yeshsua Mashiach.”  I  guess it’s because they know the Old Testament end to end, and they have accepted and received the revelation that Jesus was and is The Messiah.  That truly is a powerful combination. 

Leave a Reply

