Laminin – The Glue That Holds Us Together

My mom sent me another awesome email and this is definitely a gotta share it with everyone message so sit back and get ready to be amazed!

A couple of days ago I was running (I use that term very loosely) on my treadmill, watching a DVD sermon by Louie Giglio…and I was BLOWN AWAY! I want to share what I learned….but I fear not being able to convey it as well as I want. I will share anyway.

He (Louie) was talking about how inconceivably BIG our God is…how He spoke the universe into being…how He breathes stars out of His mouth that are huge raging balls of fire…etc. etc. Then He went on to speak of how this star-breathing, universe creating God ALSO knitted our human bodies together with amazing detail and wonder. At this point I am LOVING it (fascinating from a medical standpoint, you know.) …..and I was remembering how I was constantly amazed during medical school as I learned more and more about God’s handiwork. I remember so many times thinking….”How can ANYONE deny that a Creator did all of this???”

Louie went on to talk about how we can trust that the God who created all this, also has the power to hold it all together when things seem to be falling apart…how our loving Creator is also our sustainer. And then I lost my breath.

And it wasn’t because I was running my treadmill, either!!!
It was because he started talking about laminin.
I knew about laminin. Here is how Wikipedia describes them :”laminin’s are a family of proteins that are an integral part of the structural scaffolding of basement membranes in almost every animal tissue.” You see….laminin’s are what hold us together….LITERALLY. They are cell adhesion molecules. They are what holds one cell of our bodies to the next cell. Without them, we would literally fall apart. And I knew all this already. But what I didn’t know is what laminin LOOKED LIKE.
But now I do.

And I have thought about it a thousand times since (already)….
Here is what the structure of laminin looks like…AND THIS IS NOT a “Christian portrayal” of it….if you look up laminin in any scientific/medical piece of literature, this is what you will see…

laminin
Amazing!

The glue that holds us together….ALL of us….is in the shape of the cross. Immediately Colossians 1:15-17 comes to mind.

“He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn over all creation.For by him all things were created; things in heaven and on earth , visible and invisible, whether thrones or powers or rulers or authorities; all things were created by him and for him.
He is before all things, and in him all things HOLD TOGETHER. “
Colossians 1:15-17

Call me crazy. I just think that is AWESOME!
Thousands of years before the world knew anything about laminin, Paul penned those words. And now we see that from a very LITERAL standpoint, we are held together…one cell to another….by the cross.

You would never in a quadrillion years convince me that is anything other than the mark of a Creator who knew EXACTLY what laminin “glue” would look like long before Adam even breathed his first breath!!

WE PRAISE YOU LORD!

        In Christ, Love Sabine

Update 5/20  - My site has been getting a lot of traffic to this post,
so I'm linking the Louie Giglio video from YouTube, enjoy! Briggie ^i^



Click Here to see the Laminin T-Shirt!
15 thoughts on “Laminin – The Glue That Holds Us Together

  1. Pingback: Glue laminin | Bet4gain

  2. Pingback: Wife is going to leave because of my daughter - Page 2

  3. Sorry….you’re just inferring what you want to infer. Could all medieval soldiers claim godly righteousness because their swords were in the shape of Laminin? What about the other proteins that help hold cells together? Are they to be considered unholy molecules? What about our bones and ligaments? Should they go on strike because they’re not getting credit for holding our bodies together? Finally, go look at an actual electron microscope image of laminin — it doesn’t look like a cross. The drawings you see in books are simply an easy way (by humans) to graphically represent the molecular structure of this protein. I think we all need to relax a little bit. Faith is faith. We don’t need to look for email chain letters or used-car salesmen turned preachers to convince us of God.

  4. God Bless You,i believe every thing you say. Iam trusting to see God’s greatness in my smallness,i wanna see it real,i have failed everthing on my own,God is still silent on most things i desperately want to hear his voice. i wanna hear Him clearly,i need Him for every breath,second and minute i take before i get out of this form.

  5. For doubters:see: Isolation of a Subunit of Laminin and its Role in Molecular Structure and Tumor cell Attachment 031582 from Journal of Biological Chemistry–see real
    electron microscope pictures of this molecule (set A)

  6. Pingback: Soul Harvest & Laminin T-Shirts « There is Power in Prayer through Yeshua Ha’ Mashiach!

  7. I hope I’m not wrong to post this here, but I thought I’d just share that the laminin video inspired me so much that I created a Laminin T-shirt for my small business, Soul Harvest Christian Apparel ☼. If you happen to be interested, you can see it at our online retailer – Virtuous Planet. Thank you and have a great day!

    http://www.soulharvest.net

  8. Hi Maggy Mills, so glad you stopped by and thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I too was blown away by the video, the message is just so powerful. God truly is in everything, we just have to make sure we keep looking! Have a blessed day!

  9. Wow I have just received the video above and looked up laminin to see the amazing prediction of how God’s love holds us together, means just that.

    Maggy Mills

  10. Pingback: Move over YouTube - GodTube is in the House! « There is Power in Prayer through Yeshua Ha’ Mashiach!

Leave a Reply

