Tapas Tuesday

tapas-image.jpg 

There are so many aweseome Meme’s out there I wanted to get in on action.  I’ve been giving a lot of thought as to the kind of Meme I wanted to create and the only thing I was sure about was that I wanted it to be about food.  I knew that I wanted the Meme to be something everyone enjoyed and it had to be quick and easy so I came up with the idea of Tapas Tuesday.

 So what are Tapas?  Here’s what Wikipedia has to say:

Tapas (IPA: [ˈtapas]) is the name for a wide variety of appetizers in Spanish cuisine. They may be cold, such as mixed olives and cheese, or warm, such as puntillitas, Andalusian battered, fried baby squid. In the United States and the United Kingdom, tapas have evolved into an entire cuisine; at Spanish restaurants, patrons may order many different small tapas, and combine them for a full meal.

And here’s what About.com has to say -

Tapas are snacks, canapés or finger food. Tapas come in many different forms and can vary from town to town! But, what are they?

A. Tapas can be practically anything from a chunk of tuna, cocktail onion and an olive skewered on a long toothpick to meat with sauce served piping hot in a miniature clay dish. They are served day in and day out in every bar and café in Spain. So much a part of the culture and social scene that the Spanish people invented the verb tapear which means to go and eat tapas!

I like the idea that Tapas are finger foods or appetizers if you will, and you can always make a meal out of a nice assortment of appetizers.

 Every week I’ll share one of my families favorite Tapas recipes with you.  I hope you will stop by each week and it would be awesome if you would join me by listing your Tapas of the week.

I hope to start this Tuesday September 18th, so be sure to check back.  I’m going to try and have my posts up every Monday by 11:45pm (EST)

This entry was posted in Tapas Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tapas Tuesday

  1. Briggie,

    My son drew you as the winner of our meal planning contest…can you please email me and point me into the direction of the post where you talked about the contest so we can confirm you as the winner?

    Congrats!

    Nell

Leave a Reply

