Works For Me Wednesday – 3rd Edition

wfmwheader

For those of you who’ve known me for some time, or have been reading my blog you know that I have suffered from sleep depravation for many years.  I’ve been on just about every known prescription and non-prescription sleep aide on the market, with no real success, and had to be weaned off of Ambien and Lunesta!  Well, a very good friend of mine recently told me about Melatonin, which is a natural sleep aide and it’s very inexpensive to boot.

Before I decided to try it, I went to www.melatonin.com and found some very interesting information.  Our bodies naturally produce Melatonin, it’s a hormone produced naturally in the pineal gland at the base of the brain – cool huh!?!

I bought a 60 tablet bottle (3mg per tablet)  at Target the other day in their vitamin aisle.  It was under $4, and came with an extra 60 tablets.  I take 1 about 1 hour before I want to fall asleep and I get about 6-8 hours of restful sleep.  I’ve taken it the past 4 nights and I can honestly say, I feel so much better.  I go to bed around 11pm, take 1 Melatonin, read or do my Sudoku, and within an hour, I’m in la-la land.  I’m also getting up between 8 and 9 am and I am loving it.  I was having so much trouble for the past month or so, when my family was awake, I was asleep.  I would wake up around 4pm, and be up till 7 or 8am the next day.  I would lay down for a nap, then the same thing would happen the next day. 

I can also tell you that you don’t get the weird fuzzy or lightheaded feeling either – I can’t tell you how much better I feel and how nice it is to be up with my family. 

4 thoughts on “Works For Me Wednesday – 3rd Edition

  1. I didn’t realize I would touch other lives but it certainly gave me a wonderful feeling. Praise God. So glad I could help you and others. All thanks to Jay and his jet lag and the good Lord.
    Love,
    Doris

  2. I am so grateful that my friend told me about this stuff. I can’t tell you how much I enjoy starting my day in the morning versus the late afternoon.

    God Bless!

  3. Wow! This is so interesting. I often have times when I don’t sleep well and am envious of my dh who sleep solidly all the way through the night. I’m very glad to hear you don’t feel fuzzy or out of it the next day (like I do when I take Tylenol PM). I’ll have to check this out.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Duckabush Blog

Leave a Reply

