Works For Me Wednesday

wfmwheader.jpg

Do you struggle with the chores versus allowance dilemma? I have for years. On one hand, giving kids an allowance helps them to understand how to plan out their spending and create budgets and learn the value of a dollar. However, if there are no requirements for them to get the allowance, where is the true lesson? Then we went the route where we took away allowance, assigned chores and when they needed money, they would ask. This didn’t work either because they would always need money, but the chores either weren’t getting done, or they were done poorly.

Then the other day, I had an epiphany. I have a need, and so do they. I need work done around the house, and they need money. So, I sat down and decided what I wanted done on a regular basis and created a 3 job postings (one for each kid). I outlined in detail what, when, where and how and came up with a dollar value for the job. I emailed the job postings to all of them, gave them a deadline to reply by and asked them to list which job they were applying for and why they should be hired.

I got 2 out of 3 responses (my younger son just enrolled for fall semester at college taking 16 credits and was offered a job as a paid tutor at our high school so he backed off) but that’s cool because my older son applied for more than one position. I notified my son and daughter of their hire, the pay scale, when the work week began and what I expected from them. I also notified them that any work not completed on time would result in a reduction of their pay, along with any work product that was not in compliance with the job requirements. I also created a bonus program that will allow them to make extra money and get some projects off my To Do List.

I think this is one of my best ideas because it’s a Win-Win for everyone. It gives them some financial independence and takes the pressure off of me to ask them to help around the house.

9 thoughts on “Works For Me Wednesday

  1. Kristen, thanks so much for stopping by. I continue to keep you and your family in my prayers and please keep us updated as to your condition. Everyday, pray and declare that you and your babies are under God’s covenant and that your bodies function perfectly because they are free from the penalty of death in the precious name of Jesus!

    God Bless you all,
    briggie ^i^

  2. Laane, thanks so much for stopping by. I understand what you are saying, cleaning their rooms is not part of any of the jobs I posted. I posted things like scrubbing the bath room, mopping and sweeping, dusting – all the stuff that I HATE TO DO!!! Keeping their rooms clean as far as I’m concerned is not a battle I’m willing to wage any longer. I agree that a clean room attributes to their health. Not just physical, but emotional. I’ve always told my kids that their room (as is mine) is their sanctuary and when it’s messy or not clean, it’s hard to focus, concentrate or even relax. Bonus jobs I’ve posted are shampooing the rugs, washing the cars, sweeping the porches and sidewalk, painting rooms, hanging shelves – all the stuff that my husband and I used to do, but either don’t have the time or the stamina to do.

    Thanks again for sharing, your feedback is important to me and valuable to the readers.
    -briggie ^i^

  3. I’m not sure.

    I want to create the responsibility without involving money.
    They need to know that when they live somewhere that creates the responsibility to give input for free.
    They’re not cleaning their room for me, but for their health, and to have more room.

    I think the system is great as an additional
    feature, for special jobs, like cleaning the attick or so.

  4. Hi!

    I wanted to stop by and thank you for coming by my blog and for the beautiful prayer you prayed for me and my little twin babies. I feel so blessed to have so many people praying for me and encouraging me during this time. I will update as I can about what’s going on.

    Thank you so much, again. Have a great Wednesday!

  5. Dear Briggitte,
    I think you have a great idea there with
    with posting the chores and pay for each. You definately have a win win situation. Congratulations and good luck.
    Love,
    Doris

Leave a Reply

